Simple | Emotional | Real

The Gear Bag…..

Hey everybody… thought I would share a little bit about what gear and equipment I use for different shoots and stuff. I always like to peek in to what other photographers choice of equipment is; so I think its only fair if I share whats in my bag of goodies. I don’t have any real format for this… I’ll just list and tell a little bit about each piece as needed.

Camera: Nikon D300 (primary) Nikon D200 (backup) – I am still getting used to the D300 but it is working out to be a great camera, the D200 is a workhorse – great camera

Lens: Nikor 50mm f1.4 (great for low light conditions and very fast) Nikor VR 18-200mm f3.5-5.6 (my most popular used lens, good for wide angle and zoom shots. a little slower than i like but great if there plenty of light. used on all shoots also has the vibration reduction feature) Nikor 70-200mm VR f2.8 (gaining my favoritism quickly… this lens is great for portraits b/c of its depth of field. it’s a very fast lens: my main lens during a ceremony and concerts plus it also features the vibration reduction) Nikor 17-55mm f2.8 my new favorite lens of all time… extremely fast also with the wide angle and medium zoom. Great portrait lens.

Flash: Nikon SB800 (2) (great flash for all situations, on camera and off) Nikon SB600 (good entry level flash, mine is for sale if anyone wants to buy it… i have just out grown this one)

Miscellaneous: Pocket Wizzards (4) (this has single handily revolutionized my photographic experience. radio transmitters that i can connect to off camera flash units to produce a nice light to the subject. they are real handy for wedding receptions. great great addition) Sekonic Light Meter (i use this for portrait and studio shoots with controlled and constant lighting. helps to get the exposure right.) Lexar 4GB 133x (3) Lexar 2GB 133x (2) (i prefer the Lexar brand memory card, just have had good luck with those… very important, i would never go over 4GB on anyone one card b/c if one did happen to corrupt…that a lot of pictures that i just lost) Portable Studio Set with 2 hot lights – 2 8ft light stands – 1 boom light and 8ft stand : 2 12ft backdrop stands that can be adjusted from 7ft wide to 12ft wide with two backdrops (black and white)

Well people… thats about my equipment in a nutshell. Not sure if it interest you, but i enjoyed writing this!

Leave a comment